What's On

Public Places Bylaw review

This consultation is now closed and the new Public Places Bylaw came into force in July 2017.

Public places bylaw review

In late 2016 and early 2017, we sought input from the community and interested parties to help us develop a revised Public Places Bylaw and Trading in Public Places Policy that reflect people’s needs.

A report on the review of the Public Places Bylaw and the Trading in Public Places Policy, including a copy of the draft 2017 Bylaw and Policy, was considered by Council’s Strategy and Policy Committee of Council at the 2 February 2017 meeting.

From 22 February to 31 March 2017, the community had another opportunity for feedback – this time to provide formal submissions on the draft 2017 Public Places Bylaw and draft 2017 Trading in Public Places Policy. 

Opportunities for feedback

Community input November 2016 - January 2017
Draft revised Public Places Bylaw February 2017
Formal consultation 22 February - 31 March 2017
Hearing on submissions April - May 2017
Council adoption of new bylaw June 2017

About the public places bylaw

The Public Places Bylaw broadly covers what we can do in our public places to help ensure people’s well-being and enjoyment of an area that is open to or used by the public and which is under the management or control of the Council.

It seeks to maintain standards of public health and safety, protect the public from nuisance, minimise the potential for offensive behaviour and manage various types of land under the control of the Kapiti Coast District Council while balancing the various different, and sometimes competing, lawful uses for which public places may be used.

The Public Places Bylaw is one of several Kāpiti Coast District bylaws providing rules governing what we can do in our public places. Others include the Beach Bylaw and Traffic Bylaw.

Our Public Places Bylaw covers a diverse range of activities and includes rules controlling trading in public places; the placement of temporary hoardings, posters and notices; temporary events; where street performances and appeals can take place; using or riding a cycle or skating device in these public places; overhanging trees and shrubs; and what’s prohibited in reserves.

About the Trading in Public Places Policy

The Trading in Public Places Policy regulates trading activity in public places. It supports the Public Places Bylaw by providing additional detail on trading activities such as markets, temporary events and alfresco dining in public places. The policy's aim is to ensure trading activities are carried out safely, appropriately and with minimum nuisance to the general public.

The Policy provides guidelines for allowing trading or trading-related activities on streets and public places including: open air markets, mobile shops, temporary events, outdoor dining, foot path stalls, and sandwich boards.