Your Council


The judging panel consists of the Mayor and local residents who are passionate about sustainabiltiy.

2010/11 judging panel:

  • Jenny Rowan (Mayor during 2007-2010 and 2010-2013 triennia)
  • Joy Darke, NZ Gardener of the Year for the Wellington Region, 2010
  • Kevin Milne, one of New Zealand television's longest-serving reporters and co-host of 'Fair Go'
  • Caleb Royal, Director of Environmental Science and Management at Te Wānanga-O-Raukawa in Ōtaki
  • Liana Stupples, Executive Director of the Hikurangi Foundation, an environmental not-for-profit

2011/12 judging panel:

  • Jenny Rowan (Mayor during 2010-2013 triennium)
  • Robert Glensor, founder and managing director of Paraoa Bakehouse Ltd, New Zealand's first and only BioGro-certified organic bakery and National Sustainable Business of the Year 2008
  • Professor Brenda Vale, Research Fellow at Victoria University with a background in sustainable architecture and currently working on environmental footprinting
  • Joy DarkeLiana Stupples

2013/14 judging panel:

  • Mayor Ross Church
  • Paul Kennett, one of the cycling Kennett brothers, with a keen interest in personal carbon efficiency, sustainable home DIY and community
  • Kath Irvine, organic garden advisor and tutor through her company Edible Backyard and previous Council Green Gardener
  • Brenda Vale
  • Robert Glensor