Mayor and Councillors COUNCIL

25 OCTOBER 2018

Meeting Status: Public

Purpose of Report: For Decision

APPOINTMENTS TO THE GRANTS ALLOCATION COMMITTEE AND TO KAPITI ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY GROUP

PURPOSE OF REPORT

- 1 This report asks Council to:
 - (a) note Mayor Gurunathan's exercise of his powers under section 41A of the Local Government Act (LGA) 2002 in establishing Committees and assigning Chairs and members to them;
 - (b) approve the appointment of the Deputy Chair of the Grants Allocation Committee; and
 - (c) approve the representative to the Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group.

DELEGATION

2 The Council has the authority to consider this matter.

BACKGROUND

At the beginning of the Triennium 2016-2019, under section 41A of the Local Government Act (LGA) 2002 Committees of Council were established and membership appointed, including that of the Grants Allocation Committee as follows:

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	MEMBERS
Grants Allocation	Cr David Scott	Mayor and Cr Benton and Cr Holborow

- On 10 August 2017 the Council approved the appointment of an additional three members, Crs Elliott, M Scott and Buswell, to the Grants Allocation Committee. This followed discussion about forthcoming leave and concern that, should the Mayor be called away on other business at short notice, this would leave the Grants Committee low on numbers while making important decisions around Community Grants.
- 5 Also at the beginning of the Triennium 2016-2019 the Council appointed Cr D Scott to the Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group. In June 2017 Cr Buswell was identified as a suitable alternate and has attended meetings of the group ever since.

ISSUES AND OPTIONS

Issues

- The need to clarify the membership of the committee when dealing with applications for Creative Communities New Zealand (CCNZ) grants was a driver for a review of the current membership. The Creative Communities Scheme specifies clearly that not more than two elected members can be appointed to the assessment committee for the scheme. Having more than two elected members appointed is against the guidelines of the scheme. At a meeting of the Grants Committee to deal with CCNZ applications earlier in 2018, four members of Council were present which meant that two of them had to take no part in the decision making stage of the meeting.
- 7 Concerns around leave and availability of Grants Allocation Committee members no longer exist and it would be helpful to reduce the membership of the Grants Allocation Committee. The membership of this committee, with the inclusion of Cr Howson, also reflects the balance of portfolios and workload currently shared amongst the councillors.
- 8 Cr D Scott is on leave of absence and unable to carry out any duties as a councillor. It is therefore an appropriate time to formalise the appointment of another councillor to the Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group.

CONSIDERATIONS

Policy considerations

9 There are no policy considerations.

Legal considerations

10 There are no additional legal considerations.

Financial considerations

11 There are no financial considerations.

Tāngata whenua considerations

12 There are no Tangata whenua considerations.

SIGNIFICANCE AND ENGAGEMENT

Significance policy

13 This matter has a low level of significance under Council's Significance and Engagement Policy.

Engagement planning

14 An engagement plan is not needed to implement this decision.

RECOMMENDATIONS

- 15 That Council:
 - 15.1 Notes the mayoral appointment of the Chair and membership of the Grants Allocation Committee as follows:

COMMITTEE	CHAIR	MEMBERS
Grants Allocation	Cr Benton	Cr Howson Cr Holborow Cr Elliott Cr Buswell Mayor

- 15.2 Appoints Cr Howson as Deputy Chair of the Grants Allocation Committee.
- 15.3 Notes that the following councillors are no longer members of the Grants Allocation Committee: Cr D Scott, Cr M Scott.
- 15.4 Notes that for the purposes of dealing with Creative Communities New Zealand applications, the members will be Cr Benton and Cr Holborow.
- 15.5 Removes Cr D Scott as a member of the Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group.
- 15.6 Appoints Cr Buswell to the Kāpiti Accessibility Advisory Group.

Report prepared by	Approved for submission	Approved for submission
Leyanne Belcher	Natasha Tod	Janice McDougall
Democracy Services	Group Manager	Acting Group Manager
Manager	Regulatory Services	Corporate Services