Our District

Contact us

Kāpiti Coast District Council
175 Rimu Road
Private Bag 60601
Paraparaumu 5254

04 296 4700 
0800 486 486
Fax: 04 296 4830 

Opening hours:

8am to 5pm - Monday to Friday

More on hours and service centres


Local Restoration Groups

If you’d like to get involved, volunteers are always welcome at local restoration groups.

Activities include tree planting, track building, weeding, pest trapping, bird monitoring, and nursery work.

Some volunteers have many years’ experience so getting involved is a great way to learn.

Local restoration groups and their contact details


Contact Details

Friends of Queen Elizabeth Regional Park

Suzanna Harris

Email: suzanne.harris@xtra.co.nz
Guardians of Whareroa

Ann Evans (Secretary)

Email: whareroa.gaurdians@gmail.com

Nga Uruora Kapiti Project

Peter Kentish

Email: pk2003_595@hotmail.com

Keep Paraparaumu/Raumati Beautiful

Diane Ammundsen

Email: ammundsen.dianne@gmail.com

Waikanae Estuary Care Group

Robin Gunston

Email: robin.gunston@gmail.com

Waimeha Restoration Group

Pryor Rowland

Email: pryorrowland@gmail.com

Friends of Greendale Reserve

Phil Palmer

Email: phvcpalmer@gmail.com

Friends of Kaitawa Reserve

John McLachlan

Email: johnmclachlan85@gmail.com

Friends of Waikanae River

Feriel Falconer (Chair)

Email: fandrfalconer@gmail.com

Te Horo Beach Care / Mangaone Restoration

Billie Taylor

Email: writenow@xtra.co.nz

Keep Otaki Beautiful

Lloyd Chapman

Email: lloyd.chapman@inspire.net.nz

Friends of the Otaki River

Max Lutz (Chair)

Email: max.lutz@xtra.co.nz

Waitohu Stream and Dune Care

Lyndsay Knowles

Email: lyndsay.knowles7@slingshot.co.nz

Friends of the Wharemauku Stream

Roger Childs

Email: pamandroger.childs@gmail.com 

Kapi-Mana Branch, Forest and Bird

Alan Froggatt

Email: a.rfroggatt@xtra.co.nz

Peka Peka Dune Restoration Group

Brenda Smith

Email: smith.barrett@xtra.co.nz  

Mangapouri Stream Research and Restoration Project

Pataka Moore

Email: pataka.moore@twor.ac.nz  

Field Way Dune Restoration Group

Mike Odey

Email: mike@mikeodey.co.nz 

Friends of Titoku Stream

Diane Ammundsen

Email: ammundsen.dianne@gmail.com 

Rangiuru by the Sea Restoration Group

Bronya Clare

Email: clarebronya@gmail.com  

Friends of Paekakariki Streams

Florence MacNeil

Email: florencemcneill@gmail.com

Parikawau Restoration Group

Heather McKenzie

Email: mckenzieheatherm@gmail.com

Reikorangi Bush Reserves Care Group

Paul Devereux

Email: paulrdevereux@xtra.co.nz

Reikorangi River and Bush Group

Phil Stroud

Email: waa.rata@xtra.co.nz

Kapiti Environmental Restoration Management Trust

John Topliff

Email: jvtopliff@outlook.com

Keep Waikanae Beautiful

Pam Sinclair

Email: laury.sinclair@paradise.net.nz

Friends of Pharazyn Reserve

Noel Sungren

Email: sundgrennz@hotmail.com

Friends of Ngawhakangutu Reserve

Kate O’Reilly

Email: iainkate@gmail.com

Greater Wellington Regional Council

Penny Gaylor

Email: penny.gaylor@gw.govt.nz

Related Links

NZ Trust for Conservation Volunteers
Online resources for care groups - GWRC website
The Green Pages website
Volunteer opportunities - DoC website