Our District

Waitangi Day

The 2018 Waitangi Day commemorations were held on Tuesday 6 February, from 1pm-3pm, at the Council chambers in Paraparaumu. The theme for this year is Te Tiriti: 'Me huri whakamuri, ka titiro whakamua’, and includes a multimedia exhibition showcasing the significance of the Treaty of Waitangi and tāngata whenua of the Kāpiti Coast District.

The exhibition will show throughout the District at various service centres until June.

Dates and venues:

7 February – 6 March, Paraparaumu Library
6 March – 3 April, Ōtaki Library
3 April – 8 May, Paekākāriki Station Museum
8 May – 5 June, Waikanae Library

Waitangi Day Kāpiti 2018

Waitangi Day on the Kāpiti Coast

Waitangi Day is commemorated each year in partnership with tāngata whenua and moves to different marae and locations around the District.  Waitangi Day on the Kāpiti Coast has evolved into a community event that celebrates whanaungatanga and diversity. 

Waitangi Day is a public holiday that is observed throughout Aotearoa New Zealand to commemorate the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi between the British Crown and Māori at Waitangi in 1840.  The Treaty of Waitangi is a founding document of government in New Zealand and the day has been a public holiday since 1974.

Treaty signatories

The tāngata whenua of the District are Te Āti Awa ki Whakarongotai, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Toa Rangatira, including whānau and hapū. In the 1820-1830s they were firmly established in the District and were signatories to the Treaty of Waitangi at the following locations:

  • On board the ship The Ariel at Port Nicholson in Wellington (29 April 1840)
  • Queen Charlotte Sounds (4 May 1840)
  • Rangitoto (d'Urville Island), (11 May 1840)
  • Kāpiti Island (14 May 1840)
  • Waikanae (16 May 1840)
  • Ōtaki (19 May 1840)
  • Manawatū (26 May 1840)
  • Motungarara Island (4 June 1840)
  • Guard's Bay and Cloudy Bay (Te Koko-a-Kupe) in Te Tau Ihu (17 June 1840)
  • Mana Island (19 June 1840), and again on Kāpiti Island (19 June 1840).

Contact us

Kāpiti Coast District Council
175 Rimu Road
Private Bag 60601
Paraparaumu 5254

04 296 4700 
0800 486 486
Fax: 04 296 4830 

Opening hours:

8am to 5pm - Monday to Friday

More on hours and service centres