Your Council

Executive management

Meet the Council's Executive Management team.

Chief Executive, Wayne Maxwell

Phone: 04 296 4894


Wayne, as Chief Executive, is solely responsible to the elected members for the management of Council's affairs and for all policy advice.

Five group managers report to the Chief Executive, along with the Organisational Development Manager. The group managers are responsible for the successful management of the activities outlined below. 



Group Manager, Corporate Services,
Mark de Haast

Phone: 04 296 5471


The Corporate Services Group is responsible for support services, including ICT, Business Improvement, Finance, Corporate Planning and Reporting, Research and Policy, and Legal.



Group Manager, Infrastructure Services,
Sean Mallon

Phone: 04 296 4690


The Infrastructure Group is responsible for Access and Transport, Water and Wastewater Assets, Solid Waste Assets, Water and Wastewater Treatment Plants, Operations, Stormwater and Coastal Assets, and the Project Management Office. 



Janice McDougallGroup Manager, People & Partnerships
Janice McDougall

Phone: 04 296 4841


The People & Partnerships Group is responsible for Customer Service, Democracy Services, Iwi Relationships, Communications and Engagement, and Programme Design and Delivery. 



Group Manager, Place & Space
James Jefferson

Phone: 04 296 4752


The Place & Space Group is responsible for Libraries and Art, Economic Development, Property, Parks and Recreation and Aquatics.



Group Manager, Regulatory Services,
Natasha Tod

Phone: 04 296 4896


The Regulatory Services Group is responsible for Animal Control, 
Building, Resource Consents and Compliance, Environmental Standards, Licensing and Compliance Monitoring and the District Plan.