Your Council

Governance 2016-2019

For the 2016-2019 Triennium (ie term of office) the Mayor exercised his powers under section 41A of the Local Government Act 2002 and established Committees, appointed Chairs to those Committees, and set their terms of reference, and membership. The Council then approved delegations for the Committees, one Subcommittee, and four Community Boards. All this information is set out in the Governance Structure and Delegations document below which was adopted by Council on 26 October 2016. The document also details the appointments of elected members to a range of Joint Committees and external organisations.

Governance Structure and Delegations 2016-2019 

Wellington Regional Triennial Agreement

The Triennial Agreement is drafted to meet the requirements of Section 15 of the Local Government Act 2002.

The Local Government Act 2002 is intended to provide the necessary flexibility for Councils to work cooperatively and collaboratively together and with other public bodies to advance community goals and to improve community wellbeing. 

The scope of the agreement includes the current cooperative and collaborative projects already in place in the Wellington Region and work being undertaken to establish structures and protocols associated with specific issues, and aims to build on these.

Wellington Regional Triennial Agreement 2016-2019